Find a Doctor

Search by Name

Search by Specialty

Search by Insurance

Search Within            Zipcode


Search Within

 miles of  

Anita Stern Named UVMC Cameos of Caring Award Nurse

Anita SternAnita Stern was named Upper Valley Medical Center’s 2011 Cameos of Caring Award recipient at the annual Spring Nursing Forum held May 12.

Stern, a registered nurse working in Women’s Services, also received a Nursing Excellence Award. She has been employed at UVMC since 1983.

The goal of the Cameos of Caring program, overseen regionally by Wright State University, is to recognize nurses “who epitomize caring at the bedside,” said Judy Snyder, UVMC Vice President/Chief Nursing Officer.  UVMC has participated in the regional program since 2001 with the first local recognition event.

Stern is as an “excellent nurse who provides wonderful care” and shares a personal calling and skills in photography to assist with infant bereavement care in the Women’s Services Department, Snyder said. 

“Her interactions with the patient, family and infant are kind, compassionate and sensitive with a perfect blend of professionalism and personal touch,” Snyder said.

Also recognized during the forum were Melanie Hicks, named New Hire of the Year; Kristin Jones, Preceptor of the Year; Brenda Free, Nurse Manager; Diana Goettemoeller, CNS/Clinician/Educator; Jean Heath, Director in Nurse Leadership Role; and the late Nancy Rethman, Partner in Practice.

This year’s recipients of the UVMC Nursing Excellence Awards were the following registered nurses:  Jennie Blythe, Elaine Bohman, Darla Brown, Ana Brush, Patty Chappie, Kathy Colbert, Sherri Colby, Mandi Crump, Melissa Denius, Amy Dorsey, Kerry Dowling, Melissa Humphreys, Jennifer Kiser, Katie Kneiss, Lindsey Lair, Beth Perkins, Dawn Sherman, Jackie Smallenbarger, Nancy Snell, Anita Stern and Krista Withrow.

Nursing Staff Partners awards were presented to Jodi Hughes and Maria Richardson, Patient Care Technicians; Mindy Evans, LPN; and Karla Kuhn, Health Unit Coordinator.

The recipients of the Physician Recognition Awards were Dr. Al Rajab, Dr. Ronal Manis and Dr. Donald Wharton.